Judicial Fairness

The Judicial Fairness Committee’s Mission is to provide a forum to educate TIDA members and the transportation industry in general on the various states’ legal systems, laws, and venue specific issues that impact the defense of a motor carrier in various judicial forums in the United States. Specifically, our goal is to:

  1. Search for transportation verdicts that represent both unreasonable and reasonable decisions and seek to understand what led to these verdicts;
  2. Monitor new appellate rulings and legislative tort reform efforts and publicizing both to our membership and the transportation industry;
  3. Analyze opportunities that might be available to assist the industry in developing laws that would achieve fair verdicts in all civil courtrooms throughout the country.  

Click here to review the committee's insight on recent verdicts. 


Board Advisor

Charles F. Carr
Carr Allison

Nathan Lundquist
Protective Insurance Company

Committee Members

 Paul Yarbrough, Chair (Colorado)
Hall & Evans LLC

Pam Hallford, Vice Chair (Alabama)
Carr Allison

 Doug Betkowski (At Large Trucking Representative)
Swift Transportation/Mohave Transportation Insurance Company

Christy Comstock (Arkansas)
Wales & Comstock

Vallie Dugas (Oklahoma)
Melton Truck Lines, Inc.

Andy Fay (Massachusetts)
Fay Law Group, LLC

Christopher Fusco (New Jersey)
Callahan & Fusco, LLC.

Pat Gilroy (Oregon)
NW Transportation Lawyers PC

Robert Hanlon (New Jersey)
Goldberg Segalla LLP

Tom Harrison (Texas)
Cotten Schmidt & Abbott, L.L.P.

Dylan Jackson (Washington)

Wilson Smith Cochran Dickerson

Brittney Krause (Nebraska)
Crete Carrier Corporation

Mike Langford (Indiana)
Scopelitis Garvin Light Hanson & Feary

Mike Nerone (Pennsylvania)
Pion, Nerone, Girman, Winslow & Smith PC

Mark Perkins (Louisiana)
Perkins & Associates, LLC

Richard Pianka (Virginia)
American Trucking Associations

Carolyn Ramos (New Mexico)
Butt Thornton & Baehr, PC

Lynn Rodgers (Missouri)
Evans & Dixon LLC

Grant Smith (Georgia)
Dennis, Corry, Smith & Dixon, LLP

Clarice Spicker (Arizona)
Jones, Skelton & Hochuli, PLC

Jay Starrett (Wisconsin)
Scopelitis Garvin Light Hanson & Feary

Chris Vossler (Connecticut)
Howd & Ludorf, LLC

Carl Wyatt (Tennessee)
Glassman, Wyatt, Tuttle & Cox, P.C.